Member Login

Username or Email
Can't log in? Contact Us

Congratulations TCF Award Winners!

TCF Awards for 2018

Andrea Solnes, Diana Jeffries, Mohammed Alsaleh and Taslim Damji Win the 2018 AIDS and Health Education Award

Andrea Solnes, Diana Jeffries, Mohammed Alsaleh and Taslim Damji have been awarded the AIDS and Health Education Award for their project, ‘A Holistic Approach to Refugee Men’s Health: An English Language Resource’. A health curriculum will be developed that will provide appropriate English language resources and information to help and support refugee men to achieve better physical and mental health as well as improvement in men’s overall sense of well-being. The project results will be shared with the English language community through conference presentations and through the BC TEAL Journal.

Pacific Immigrant Resource Society Wins a 2018 Project Funding Award

PIRS has been awarded a 2018 Project Funding Award. The primary focus of their project is to help develop a training manual and a curriculum for a 12-week women’s leadership class. The curriculum will focus on English language and intercultural competencies for women with CLB 4 or higher. The curriculum will lead participants to become civically engaged, develop leadership skills, and enhance their intercultural competencies.

Vera Ziwei Wu Wins the 2018 Nan Poliakoff Memorial Award

Vera Ziwei Wu has been awarded the 2018 Nan Poliakoff Memorial Award. Vera will use her award to travel to the 2018 BC TEAL Conference and the 2018 TESOL Conference to present her research on the effectiveness of TESOL programs and career support for TESOL professionals with diverse academic and cultural backgrounds.

Cari-Ann Roberts Gotta Wins the 2018 TEAL/TESOL Award

Cari-Ann Roberts Gotta awarded the 2018 TEAL/TESOL Award. Cari-Ann is TEAL’s regional representative for the Kootenays. She will use her award to attend the 2018 BC TEAL Conference and share her experience and learning from the conference with English language instructors and colleagues at Selkirk College.

Taslim Damji Wins the 2018 LISTN Resource Award

Congratulations go to Taslim Damji, recipient of the 2018 LISTN Resource Award. Taslim will use her award to create a resource of easy to use interactive task-based activities anchored in intercultural theory. The resource will also apply Native teachings that relate to a 4 step framework of Belonging, Independence, Mastery and Generosity. These CLB aligned materials are intended for use in LINC and English language classrooms as well as settlement groups locally, provincially and nation-wide.

The 2018 BC TEAL Conference Awarded a 2018 Project Funding Award

The 2018 BC TEAL Conference has been awarded a Project Funding Award to support the cost of providing three well-recognized and accomplished keynote/plenary speakers at the 2018 BC TEAL Conference. Each year, the BC TEAL Conference brings together the English language professional community for two full days of professional development featuring presentations, workshops, panel discussions, networking events, a publishers’ display and outstanding international keynote/plenary speakers.

Copyright © 2016 Terms of UsePrivacy Policy